This is the "Home" page of the "Poetry Research Paper (English II)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Poetry Research Paper (English II)  

A 5 segment research assignment on an American Poet
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pennington.org/AmericanPoets Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Segment 1: Poet Autobiography and Online Collection Source

  • Biography in Context
    Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of people throughout history. It's a great place to start to get background information on your American Poet.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    A great source for background information.
 

Segment 1: Text Sources

Most of the books about individual poets have been placed on the gray library cart labeled "Poetry - 10th Grade English".  However, we do not have books for each poet on the list.  If you don't find a book that is specific to your selected poet, the following books are located in the reference section:

Cover Art
Critical Survey of Poetry
Call Number: REF 809.1 CRI
This reference book set has biographical information on many poets, as well as an analysis on some of their poems.

Cover Art
World Poets
Call Number: REF 809.1 WOR
ISBN: 068480591x
This 3 book set contains biographical information on many poets and some work analysis.

Cover Art
American Writers
Call Number: REF 810.8 AME
ISBN: 0684136732
This set contains biographical information on American writers. Many of the poets for this assignment can be found here. There is biographical information as well as some work analysis.

Segments 2-4: Poem #1, #2 and Common Thread Paper

Please make sure to do some reaseach on your poet and some specific poems before you choose a poem to analyze!  There is nothing more frustrating than choosing a poem and starting to do research on it, only to realize that you are unable to find 3 scholarly articles to cite in your paper.  The following MEL databases should be very helpful:

  • Literary Reference Center
    The Literary Reference Center is found within the EBSCOHOST database and can provide many scholarly articles and analysis on many different poems.
  • Literature Resource Center
    You can choose to search only "Literature Criticism" if you are feeling lucky. If that doesn't work, try to be creative in your search terms. You can search your poet or a particular poem.
  • Bloom's Literary Reference Online
    Bloom's Literary Reference Online can be found in Facts on File. You might try the "Advanced Search" option and limit your results to "Analyses and Criticism".
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    This database will provide access to most of our ebooks as well background information that might be helpful for Segment 1.
 

Segments 2-4: Text Sources

In addition to the reference books listed in the Segment 1: Text Sources section to the left, and all of the books on the gray library cart , the following text reference source will be extremely helpful in looking for poem analysis and criticism.  

Cover Art
Masterplots II, Poetry Series
Call Number: REF 809.1 MAS
ISBN: 1587650371
This multi-volume reference set is organized alphabetically by poem title. It provides great analysis of individual poems, but not every poem is contained (that would be impossible).

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip